School Logo

Our curriculum

The Whole Curriculum

The whole curriculum of the school is the sum of all the children’s experiences inside and outside the classroom.  


Our curriculum is underpinned by our four whole school values: Succeed, Respect, Belong and Aspire. 


Find out about our Value Led Curriculum by clicking on the document below :

The National Curriculum

Scantabout Primary School fulfills the requirements of the National Curriculum (2014). It offers a curriculum which is balanced and broadly based and which:

  • promotes the spiritual, moral, cultural, social, emotional and physical development of pupils at the school and of society, and
  • prepares pupils at the school for the opportunities, responsibilities and experiences of later life.


The National Curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said; and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.


The National Curriculum is divided into 4 key stages, plus the Foundation Stage.


Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage begins when children reach the age of three. Children may go to a number of settings including the first year of their Primary School i.e. Year R.


Children work towards Early Learning Goals in the following areas:

3 Prime areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

4 Specific areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Arts and Design


A Foundation Stage Profile is completed by the Early Years Practitioners throughout the reception year and shared with parents.


Key Stages of compulsory education

Key Stage AgesPhase


The National Curriculum at primary level consists of the following subjects


Core Subjects

  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science


Foundation Subjects

  • Art & Design
  • Design & Technology
  • Computing
  • Geography
  • History
  • Music
  • PE


Other Subjects

  • RE (we follow the Hampshire syllabus)

The school assesses the children throughout their time at Scantabout Primary School to ensure the children make the very best progress and achieve highly. We moderate children's learning both internally and externally with both the Local Authority and cluster group schools. 


The school also uses statutory assessments and screens in accordance with the latest Standards and Testing Agency Requirements. 


This includes:

  • The Reception Baseline
  • The end of Year R assessments
  • Year 1 Phonics Screen
  • End of KS1 assessments for Reading, Writing, Maths and Science using the National Curriculum and Teacher Assessment Framework
  • Year 4 Timetables Screen
  • Year 6 SATs, Science and writing teacher assessments



If you need any more information regarding our curriculum please speak to your child's class teacher.

For more information on the National Curriculum click here